DLR Plates
Home Up 1d Black Local Lithographs Perkins Bacon Plates DLR Plates Melbourne Local Posts Revenues

W Crown A

All DLR printings are comb 14

Dies and electros were destroyed in Melbourne on 2nd July 1913 for all denominations, shortly after the release of the 1d kangaroo.

On 12 July 1950 the copper plates for the 1d and 2d along with Perkins Bacon dies cylinders and plates were destroyed

Single Plates 240 on, 4 panes of 6x10

May 85

February 1890 June 1890 October 1871
11,567,040 30,982,560 26,531,040  

Key & Duty plates of 120on 2 panes of 60, with 60on duty plate. The duty plate was doubled in 1896 except for the 1/- which was discontinued.

1 May 1892

July 1990

May 1892

January 1893

April 1890

1,954,080 1,352,400 1,342,520 2,307,120 3,296,400

WcrA wmk in new designs or plates

January 1899
February 1899
January 1901
October 1906
April 1907

The 1871 3d was the progenitor of all subsequent DLR plates. The dies used for all other denominations, ultimately, derive from the 3d.

The 3d stood alone for nearly 20 years. An entire generation of collectors had the Perkins Bacon Recess issues and this ugly duckling (charitably called cinnamon). It was not until 1890, that the PB recess plates were finally replaced with DLR surface printing designs.

The 3d layout was copied for all other plates except for the Key & Duties. Half a century later, this same 3d layout was used for the Kangaroo issues of 1913. This in turn has some bearing on the hows and why's of later federation printings of some of DLR plates.